And I Ran, I Ran So Far Away

A good friend of mine texted me a couple of weeks ago to tell me she had just started running. One run and she was hooked! She said I was her inspiration to get out the door. I cannot tell you how honored I am by that – to be called an inspiration and to know I helped someone make a healthy lifestyle change is amazing!

As my friend’s first race drew near (she ran the 2km in the Bridge City Boogie today!), we began discussing all sorts of running topics via text message. One that kept coming up was running music, and we now frequently text just the name of a random song one of us likes for running. Thanks to her I’ve added some new ones to my list, and I think I’ve given her some ideas too. Other friends have asked what I listen to when I run, so I decided to post a list of my very favorite running songs. This is just one of my running playlists, but these are my favorites and this is the list I will listen to during my next half marathon in two weeks! I won’t get through the whole thing (I hope!), but it will last for about two and a half hours. I hope you find something new to add to your list! (And yes, I’m a closet Britney fan as well as a barrel racer, so there is plenty of Ms. Spears and a bit of country-rock on here!)

Crazy On You – Heart

3 – Britney Spears

Hooked On An 8 Second Ride – Chris Ladoux

Don’t Cha – The Pussycat Dolls

Love You Like A Love Song – Selena Gomez

Rumor Has It – Adele

Beep – The Pussycat Dolls

Maneater – Nelly Furtado

Say It Right – Nelly Furtado

The Way I Are – Timbaland

Loudmouth – Fly

Fergilicious – Fergie

Glamorous – Fergie

Keep The Faith – Bon Jovi

Hit Me Up – Danny Fernandes

Kick It In The Sticks – Brantley Gilbert

Feel – Victoria Duffield

Somebody That I Used To Know (Tiesto Remix) – Gotye

Back In Time – Pitbull

Scream – Usher

On The Floor – Jennifer Lopez

See You Again – Miley Cyrus

Dancing On My Own – Robyn

Release -Timbaland

Runaway – Bon Jovi

Nice Guys Finish Last – Green Day

I Wanna Go – Britney Spears

Hips Don’t Lie – Shakira

Stronger – Britney Spears

Super Bass – Nicki Minaj

Every Little Thing Counts – Janus Stark

Sandstorm – Da Rude

I Remember You Two – Skid Row

Wait A Minute – The Pussycat Dolls

Feel It In My Bones – Tiesto feat. Teagan and Sara

Stereo Love – Edward Maya

More – Usher

In The Dark – Dev

If You Seek Amy – Britney Spears

Tonight Is The Night – Outasight

Race Directors: I’m sorry.  I’m one of those people you strongly dislike who races with earbuds in.  I take them out at the start, every aid station, any time there’s a marshall with a directional course instruction, and at the finish line (I love hearing the race announcer attempt to pronounce my  name!). I keep the volume as low as possible at all times.  I’ve attempted to run without music, but I just can’t do it.  It’s part of the escape for me, and I need it mentally. I apologize, but I’ll keep doing it.

Two days ago my friend texted me to say that her husband had just left the house for his very first run! Running is contagious it seems! When she texted, I was reading an article in Canadian Family magazine about how obese and inactive Canadian children are becoming.  One of the biggest things we need to do is model a healthy and active lifestyle for our children, and I commended her and her husband for doing  just that. Between us we have five children four and under, and they will all grow up seeing their parents running regularly and will assume it’s normal. They’ll be shocked the first time they realize that not all adults go running every evening (mine less so I guess as my husband still claims I’m insane every time I go!). Between acting as role models and enrolling our kids in soccer, dance, swimming and gymnastics as well as just playing outside daily, we’re doing our part to end this problem. And that makes me proud.

My kids and I after the 2011 Discovery Dash race for kids in Saskatoon. They loved their real race bibs and medals (their t-shirts are still too big!).

Gotta run!

What do you like to listen to when you run? I’m always looking for new songs and ideas! What do you do to keep your kids healthy and fit?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by agirlrunner on June 13, 2012 at 1:23 am

    I am currently all about GLEE! I recognize songs on your playlist as songs they’ve actually covered. They do some great mash-ups too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

