40 Before 40

A month ago I turned thirty. It really wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. My husband is a couple years older than I am, and every time he has a birthday I think “wow, he’s really old!” Then by the time that same birthday arrives for me I’m used to it and it doesn’t seem that bad. (Thanks honey!) 😉

In Las Vegas this past March we met up with another couple we knew from home. She told me about her version of a bucket list. She pointed out that bucket list items are easy to put off because you don’t have a definitive deadline. I think that’s a really good point, I love checking things off a list (slightly Type-A), but a deadline helps make sure things get done. For this reason this friend has a “40 Things To Do Before I Turn 40” list. I love this idea, so totally stole it when I turned 30 and made my own list of goals for the next ten years.

Some are simple, some will take more planning, effort and yes, money. I couldn’t make them all huge because, as my husband pointed out, I have to average four list items per year! Some are running goals, some are riding goals, some are family goals, some are career goals, and some are just personal growth things. I can’t wait to do each and every one.

(Note that this list is a work in progress and was added to for quite a while. Therefore it’s rather jumbled and unorganized, but too bad.)

Forty Things To Do Before I Turn Forty

1. Run a marathon. I really want to do this, but I know the training time required just isn’t realistic for me right now. When my kids are old enough to stay by themselves for a couple of hours while I do my long runs I will absolutely run a marathon.

2. Run a total of twenty half marathons. This should be fairly attainable, as I’m at four already and have one more planned for this summer.

3. Run a sub-25 minute 5K. I haven’t run a 5K since 2011. I wanted a 24 minute time SO BAD and then did everything wrong in my target race. It was awful, and I haven’t run a 5K since. This goal has been nagging at me ever since, and I have vowed to try again in 2013.

4. Barrel race in a rodeo. I’ve been a jackpot-level barrel racer for twenty-two years. I love barrel racing, but rodeoing properly requires a TON of travel, expense and time away from home and family. I don’t care to rodeo properly, I just want to enter one and be drawn in the performance, not the slack. Those who know me know I have a young mare who should be my best shot so far at this goal within the next couple of years.

5. Barrel race in a futurity or derby. Futurities are for horses five and under, and derbies are for horses seven and under. I’d love to have my mare running well enough to be able to take her to one or two of these events in the next couple of years (she’s three now, so I have lots of time!)

6. Run 1D at the SBRA Finals. I’m not going to bore non-barrel racers with the details of the 3D/4D system, but running 1D basically means running in the fastest category, within one second of the fastest horse.

7. Take the kids to Disneyland or Disney World

8. Run half marathons in three more provinces. My big goal is to run a half in every Canadian province, so I think checking three more off my list this decade is reasonable. (I’ve done Saskatchewan and British Columbia so far.)

9. Run with Team In Training. I would like to be a part of this organization and help raise money for leukemia and lymphoma while running a target race at the same time!

TNT

10. Go to San Francisco.

11. Ride a horse to Perdue and back. This is the closest town to our farm and the round trip would be about 30 km.

12. Teach 100 families infant massage. I’m at 35 so far!

13. Swim with dolphins.

14. Go to every Cirque du Soleil show in Las Vegas. I’ve been to Ka and O so far. I know Le Reve isn’t Cirque, but it’s included in this list too. It’s my list, I can do what I want with it.

15. Go to the NFR. The National Finals Rodeo is held in Las Vegas every December and I would love to be in the audience some day!

16. Go to the CFR. The Canadian Finals Rodeo is held in Edmonton each year, and I can’t really believe I’ve never gone before, but here we are.

17. Go to the Calgary Stampede. Again, I can’t believe I’ve never been to the Stampede. Slightly ashamed of that actually!

18. Take the kids to the Calgary Zoo. Item check-off alert! My mother-in-law and I are planning a trip there for next month! Woot!

19. Go to West Edmonton Mall’s Galaxyland and Fantasyland. This is a huge indoor water park and amusement park. This is something I’m waiting for until the kids are big enough to go on the big water slides without drowning!

20. Ride at Red Rock Canyon. I ran a half at Red Rock Canyon, Nevada this March and while I was running I kept thinking “this is great, but I really should ride a horse here!” Someone’s trailer was parked near the finish line, so I know it’s a possibility!

21. Run a Rock n Roll event. These races always sound like such a great time. There aren’t many in Canada, so this will be a travelling goal.

22. Take a trip with my girlfriends. I have a great group of childhood friends. We’ve stuck together since elementary school and are planning a trip to Banff this winter to celebrate our 30th birthdays.

23. Run 10,000 kilometers from 2013 to 2023. Again, this should be attainable. I ran 1000 in 2011 and just over 1300 in 2012, so averaging 1000 per year is realistic I think.

24. Finish the yard. Oh, the yard. It’s coming along nicely, but is a work in progress. Farm yards are enormous, but I find myself actually enjoying yard work for the first time this year.

25. Ride the ferris wheel at the Quad in Las Vegas. This March when we were in Vegas we kept wondering what that huge thing was behind the Quad (formerly the Imperial Palace). We finally saw a billboard and realized that it’s the support arms for what will be a HUGE ferris wheel. At 550 feet tall, one full rotation on the High Roller will take about thirty minutes.

The construction of the High Roller ferris wheel.

The construction of the High Roller ferris wheel.

26. Take the kids to the mountains.

27. Run to Perdue and back. Again, 30 km. This will be a long run on the way to that marathon goal.

28. Volunteer at a race. Right now I have to find a baby-sitter every time I want to run a race. Usually it involves staying over night at my parents’ place so that no one has to get up as early as I have to leave to be at a race. Call me selfish (I’ll be the first to admit it), but if I’m going to that effort I want to run the darn race! Someday soon I promise I will volunteer at a race, and maybe the kids will too!

29. Run a 5K with my Dad. Sorry Dad, but you need to start doing something. When I told my Dad about this goal, I suggested the Bridge City Boogie 2014. That gives him a year to get ready! He grumbled, but did sound vaguely interested, so my fingers are crossed.

30. Learn to shoot a gun. When I was about twelve my Dad bought me a gun. I shot it about twice and really had no interest, so he sold it. Well, now I’d at least like to know how to load a gun and shoot something. Our dog has been sprayed by a skunk three or four times this spring, and I would like to have the option of taking care of that rather than being a damsel in distress.

31. Learn to make Christmas dinner. I’ve made some big progress in the kitchen in the last ten years I think (though sometimes my husband still eats supper quietly then says, as politely as he can, “please don’t make that again.”), but Christmas still scares the bejeesus out of me. I can handle the rest of it, but that darn turkey just seems so risky. This is ridiculous, I need to learn how to cook a flipping turkey!

32-40. I don’t know yet. The possibilities for the last nine options are endless! My list will fill in, and I’m excited to see where it will take me!  

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Alison on June 26, 2013 at 5:10 am

    I love your list and I have no doubt that you will cross everything off!

    Reply

  2. […] year, when I turned 30, I made a list of forty things to do before I turn forty. One of them was to run a 5K with my Dad. I was concerned about his health, and he’d run with […]

    Reply

  3. […] of the items on my 40 Things To Do Before I Turn 40 list is to cross off three more provinces in my long-term “run a half marathon in every […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

