Powered By Chocolate Milk

A while ago I received a message from a Twitter follower, offering “a unique sponsorship opportunity.” Okayyyyyy… I’ll admit I was skeptical. I’m a mid-pack runner who runs local races, what interest would a sponsor have in me? I replied anyway (you never know!), and got pretty excited as I learned more!

About a month ago I was officially accepted as a Powered By Chocolate Milk ambassador. PBCM ambassadors are from various locations in Western Canada and use chocolate milk as a recovery fuel after a tough work-out. From elite athletes (Olympic speed skater Gilmore Junio and Ironman winner Gillian Clayton!) to “normal people” like me, there are PBCM ambassadors at every level.

pbcm

I have used chocolate milk as a recovery fuel for a long time. Water hydrates, sports drinks add electrolytes, but chocolate milk also adds protein to the mix. Since chocolate milk is 90% water, it’s great for re-hydrating. It also contains a perfect balance of electrolytes (like potassium and sodium), carbohydrates (re-fuels muscles) and protein (repairs muscles).

Recovering!

Recovering!

My favourite recovery after a long run: Ice, chocolate milk, a banana and peanut butter, all blended together.

My favourite recovery after a long run: Ice, chocolate milk, a banana and peanut butter, all blended together.

I feel honoured to have been chosen by Powered By Chocolate Milk to represent them in Saskatoon. I will be sporting PBCM gear at running events this spring, so come and say hi!

photo 4

You can learn more about all the Powered By Chocolate Milk ambassadors here. Most of us can be found on Twitter, as can @pbchocolatemilk. You can keep up with our athletic endeavours with the hashtag #pbcm.

Leave a Reply

